Skip to main content

Search form

Click "Menu" to toggle open, click "Menu" again to close

MS - Biostatistics

The Master of Science in Biostatistics is offered by the Division of Epidemiology and Biostatistics.The educational objective is to prepare individuals to work effectively as applied biostatisticians in a variety of public health, epidemiological and clinical research settings.  The difference between the MS in Biostatistics and the MPH concentration in Biostatistics is that the MS provides training in probability and statistical theory with a research focus, while the MPH provides a broader background in public health.  A competitive applicant will have a strong quantitative background; at least three semesters of college-level calculus through multivariable/vector calculus is required; in addition, one semester of linear algebra is strongly recommended.

The overall course of study for the MS degree will be developed by the student and their Faculty Advisor and approved by the student's Graduate Committee and Chair of the Biostatistics Section. On average, the MS program requires approximately two years for completion. The first year is usually devoted to core coursework and completion of the qualifying exam. The second year is focused on remaining coursework and development of the master's thesis research.

Please refer to the Biostatistics Student Handbook and the UA catalog for further details on the current course schedule and specific course requirements.


Denise Roe, DrPH,  Section Chair
Z. John Daye, PhD
Angelika Gruessner, PhD
Paul Hsu, PhD
Chengcheng Hu, PhD
Duane Sherrill, PhD
Jin Zhou, PhD

Master of Science in Biostatistics Curriculum

MS in Biostatistics Competencies and Assessment Methods

Required Major Courses (24 units)

Elective Courses (minimum 9 units required)*

*Electives may also be chosen from courses taught in other programs with approval of the Biostatistics Faculty Advisor.

Thesis (minimum 6 units)

  • Required Master's Thesis, CPH 910 (1-6 units)

MS in Biostatistics Total Minimum Credit Requirement = 39 units

The University of Arizona